Life sucks… and then you fucking change it.

“Just when you think I’m at the end… I’ma catch my second wind” 🎶

I’m going to be the most honest I’ve ever been…

This year has been the shittiest year of my life. Through and through. Between health issues, assault(s), family issues, label drama, it’s been a doozy. In my lifetime, horrible things have happened, but I usually have a little time in between to recover. This was just a massive pile-up.

I’ve been kicked down harder than I knew I could be kicked, bled as much as I could bleed, tried like hell to get up just to be kicked down again. But hey… that’s life. It doesn’t always go easy on us. Our true character shines through during these difficult times. There are so many people who are dealt a wayyyy shittier hand, who am I to complain about ANYTHING?!

I have worked my ass off on an album that took every cell in my body to make and I’m damn proud.

I’m also SO fucking lucky — not only to have survived this year but to come out of it on top.. I just want to thank everyone who was there for me and I want to give a huge shout out to those of you who fight every day to just keep your head up, let alone held high. It’s not easy to admit defeat (especially when your body is trying to break you while your mind is trying to hang tough), but when you have incredible people around you and a kick ass reason to live, it makes fighting for every moment beyond worth it.

I could barely stand when I recorded my album. I had to cling onto the mic stand for dear life, just to remain upright. But here we are!

I wrote and recorded songs that took me to another place, a happy place that reminded me of who I was before I got sick. The “fun, outgoing, insanely optimistic Bari Leigh” — Now, I’m on the mend, doing everything I can to be the healthiest person I can be.

I encourage anyone struggling through the darkest of times to keep fighting. I know it sounds cliché and easier said than done. As embarrassed as I am to admit it, there were times when I honestly considered the weakest, most selfish option… Not waking up.

I’ve never been this vulnerable in my life. I don’t like to talk about my feelings, I hate “over-sharing” and most of all, I DESPISE looking weak… But today, I realized I’ve been feeling sorry for myself for way too long.

I will never stop fighting for my dreams… I just needed a reminder and today I got that reminder.

I can’t wait for y’all to hear my new music. I’ve worked harder in the last year than I’ve ever worked on anything and now you’ll understand why this album means the world to me! I’m sugar and grit, I’m #HoneyAndGravel — to the very core.

Thank you to my Mommy.. most of all… I wouldn’t be here, continuing to fight tooth and nail if it wasn’t for you. I love you. Everything I do, every ounce of success, that’s all because of you. 

One thought on “Life sucks… and then you fucking change it.

Leave a Reply

